Day 22: Leave Nothing but Footprints

I was having an uneventful Monday until I opened my Facebook and was surprised to see my friend congratulating me for having one of my photos posted on the website of http://www.philippinebeaches.org/footprints/

Image

Summer 2011. Albay, Bicol. View of Mayon Volcano, the most active steamer in the Philippines. Taken form Embarcadero Port where I found local fishermen lazily waiting for a bite on their wire.

I posted this picture last year in their Facebook account for having witnessed one of the loveliest sunsets in my life. I never thought it was uploaded in their twitter and website again. I am in my shallow happiness state when I see a thousand likes or at least a hundred shares for my photo.

The latest advocacy of this travel group is Footprints Project. I share the same thought. It aims to promote Responsible Tourism and I guess sustenance also.

I have here a couple of places that I visited and i recommend visitors to see too.

Image

December 2011. Cambugahay Falls, Siquijor.

Siquijor is a land of mysticism. Legends about shamans and faeries surround the area. Personally, I love the appeal of the place.

Image

December 2010. Chocolate Hills, Bohol. Named aptly for the color it exudes during summer. These hills are actually corals that have surfaced in time. On cooler months it is covered with a thick vegetation.

Image

Tarsier s the smallest primate in the world. It can fit in your palm. I wouldn’t recommend touching it though. The creature is nocturnal as typified by its pinpoint pupils and it undergoes stress easily if it is disturbed from its sleep.

Image

August 2011. Coron, Palawan. This is the view form Lake Kayangan. One of UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites for having the cleanest brackish (freshwater) in Asia. Palawan has a LOT of sights to offer. You can go island hopping, snorkeling, and wreck diving.

Image

September 2011. Divers Sanctuary, Bauan, Batangas. The Philippines has 2 of the top 10 best dive sites in the world. So if you are a diver or would like to dive soon, try out the more common reefs in Batangas area.

Image

In 2009, we started a medical mission in Sorsogon. It so happened that the place was near the Bay and bonus of all bonuses, we got to swim with the whale sharks!!! This photo was taken on the day we arrived. I love the simplicity of the life of the fisherfolk in the area.

Image

December 2010. Virgin Beach, Bohol. What makes this photo interesting is that this is actually one of those islands that sink in high tide. So we got to stay on the beach for 3 hours only (12-3PM)

This entry was published on June 25, 2012 at 11:46 am. It’s filed under Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

